Arrowhead Model United Nations Association (AMUNA)


Abdalla Battah, President

Dr. Battah is a member of the Department of Government at Minnesota State University, Mankato (MSU, M).  He holds a Ph.D. in International Relations from American University.  He has taught at a number of universities, including University of St. Thomas, Winona State University, and University of Minnesota.  His areas of teaching and research include IR theory, conflict resolution, Arab-Israel conflict and peacemaking, and Islam.  He is former Executive Director of Petra Crown Academics.  Currently, he is the Director of the International Relations program at Minnesota State Mankato.  He has served as AMUNA president since 2013.

 Wes Chapin, Vice President

Dr. Chapin holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Illinois.   He is Associate Provost and his responsibilities include but are not limited to accreditation, assessment, faculty development, graduate studies, institutional research, internal grants, program review, and program prioritization.  Continuing Education; the Library; the Registrar’s Office; the Grants and Research Office; the Center for Excellence in Teaching, Learning, and Inclusivity; Institutional Research staff; and the Coordinator for Learning Effectiveness report to him.  Dr. Chapin is tenured as a professor in the department of political science and international studies at the University of Wisconsin River Falls.  His areas of specialization include international relations, comparative politics, political economy, European politics, and American politics.  His publications include a book and articles in refereed journals.  He has served multiple terms as chair of the political science and international studies programs, Phi Kappa Phi, and Faculty Senate at UW-River Falls.  Dr. Chapin was also twice elected to serve as president of the Wisconsin Political Science Association.  He has been vice president of the Arrowhead Model United Nations Association since 2013.

Melissa Shaffer-O’Connell, Treasurer

Dr. Shaffer-O'Connell is an Assistant Professor at Lake Superior State University in the Political Science Department.  She has a PhD from Western Michigan University in Comparative Politics.  In the past she has been a volunteer with the SPCA of Southwest Michigan and newsletter editor for the Kalamazoo Chapter of the Sierra Club.  Currently she is part of the League of Women Voters of the Eastern Upper Peninsula.

David Wiltse, Secretary

Dr. David Wiltse is an associate professor of political of political science at South Dakota State University. Prior to his tenure at SDSU he was an assistant professor of political science at Hacettepe University in Ankara Turkey for four years, and Briar Cliff University for three years. He holds a PhD from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. His research and teaching interests are on political parties, behavior, and political finance in the realms of American and comparative politics. He has served on the Arrowhead board since 2015.

Elizabeth P. Klages, Member-At-Large

Dr. Elizabeth Klages teaches Political Science at Normandale Community College. She earned her PhD in Political Science at the University of Minnesota in 2002 in American and Comparative Politics and has been teaching a variety of college courses throughout the Twin Cities for the past 23 years. Prior to teaching, Liz worked for the International Trade Administration at the US Department of Commerce in Washington, DC, where she also completed a Masters in International Affairs at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies.  She earned her BA from Carleton College. For twenty summers, Liz worked at the Danish language village of Concordia Language Villages in Bemidji, MN, where she was dean for eleven years. She teaches the Model United Nations course at Normandale and has attended multiple conferences with students over the years, including Arrowhead Model UN, National Model UN, Midwest Model UN, and American Model UN. )